Individuals who are convicted of crimes that qualify them as sex offenders pursuant to Texas law must register with the Texas Sex Offender Registry after they have completed all terms of incarceration, community supervision, and/or parole. Depending on the type of conviction involved, adults (17 years or older) are required to register for either ten years or for life.
If individuals are designated as sexually violent offenders under Texas law, they must register for the remainder of their lives. A conviction for one of the more serious sex crimes, including many that involve children, typically will result in an individual being labeled as a sexually violent offender. Some of these crimes include:
· Aggravated sexual assault
· Trafficking of persons
· Continuous sexual abuse of a child
· Possession or promotion of child pornography
· Compelling prostitution of a minor
How Long Do I Have to Register as a Sex Offender?
Adults who are convicted of certain other sex offenses only have to register for ten years following the end of state supervision. Juvenile sex offenders also must register for ten years following the disposition of their case or after completing all required provisions in their disposition, whichever is later. Some of the criminal offenses that require only a ten-year registration requirement include the following:
· Online solicitation of a minor
· Indecency with a child
· Indecent exposure (second offense)
· Prostitution (with an individual under 18 years of age)
Under Tex. Code of Crim. Proc., Art. 62.403, Ch. 2, individuals who are required to register as sex offenders can file a motion with the court for early termination of registration. The state will perform an individual risk assessment to determine the likelihood that they will commit another crime or otherwise be a danger to the public.
An experienced Texas criminal defense attorney can help you build a strong defense against sex offenses or any criminal charges. Taking steps to get you released from jail and fight for your rights at the beginning of your case is typically easier than waiting until your case may be too far gone to fix. Contact Peek Law Group at (512) 399-2311 today and see how we can help.